Skip to main content
Search
  

 Voluntary Patients

Printer Friendly Version

 

This Info guide has been prepared by the Psychiatric Patient Advocate Office in the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care for general Informational purposes only.  It does not contain legal advice.  If you have a question of would like advice about your specific legal situation, you should contact a lawyer.

June 2016

What does it mean to be Voluntary Patient?

  • “Voluntary patient” is not defined in the Mental Health Act. However, the term “voluntary patient” is used in the Mental Health Act, and has been interpreted to mean a patient who is capable of making a decision to stay or leave a psychiatric facility.
  • A voluntary patient is not:
    • an “involuntary patient”, defined in the Mental Health Act to mean a patient who is detained in a psychiatric facility under a certificate of involuntary admission or a certificate of renewal, or
    • an “informal patient”, defined in the Mental Health Act as a person who is a patient in a psychiatric facility, having been admitted with the consent of another person under the Health Care Consent Act.
  • The Mental Health Act does not give a psychiatric facility the authority to detain you as a voluntary patient. In other words, as a voluntary patient, you are allowed to leave the hospital at any time and the hospital cannot restrain you or stop you from leaving.
  • The hospital should tell you that you are a voluntary patient. As a voluntary patient, you have chosen to be under the care, observation and treatment of a psychiatric facility.

 

How do I become a voluntary patient?

  • A voluntary patient agrees to be in the hospital. The doctor should make clear notes in your record of personal health information that you were told that you are a voluntary patient, as well as your agreement to be a voluntary patient.
  • There are four ways to become a voluntary patient:
    1. You are admitted to the hospital as a voluntary patient if a doctor thinks you are in need of observation, care and treatment that can be provided by a hospital.
      • Example: You go to the hospital because you are feeling unwell and the doctor agrees with you that you should be admitted because you need mental health care.
    2. You are detained in the hospital on an Application for Psychiatric Assessment (Form 1) or you are an involuntary patient with a certificate of involuntary admission or a renewal (Form 3 or 4) and the Form expires.  
      • Example #1: After being detained in the hospital on a Form 1 for 72 hours, the Form 1 expires but the doctor does not complete a certificate of involuntary admission (Form 3).
      • Example #2: You are on a certificate of involuntary admission (Form 3) or a renewal (Form 4) and the doctor does not renew the Form 3 or 4.
    3. A doctor changes your status as a patient from involuntary to voluntary (Form 5) before your certificate of involuntary admission is set to expire.
      • Example: You are detained in the hospital as an involuntary patient on a Form 3 which expires on June 15th. However, the doctor decides on June 10th that you no longer meet the criteria to be an involuntary patient. By completing a document called a Form 5, the doctor cancels the Form 3 and you become a voluntary patient.
    4. You are admitted to the hospital as a medical patient but the doctor feels that you should also be a psychiatric patient.
      • Example: You go to the hospital because you are having chest pains and you are admitted as a medical patient to the cardiac unit. However, the doctor thinks you also meet the criteria to be a psychiatric patient and informs you of this decision, and you agree to be admitted as a psychiatric patient.

 

What are my rights as a voluntary patient?

  • Voluntary patients cannot be detained. This means that you should be informed that you are a voluntary patient and that you must agree to stay in the hospital. Your agreement should be recorded in your record of personal health information.
  • As a voluntary patient, you are allowed to leave the hospital whenever you choose. You do not need a pass, leave of absence or staff permission to leave the hospital. However, some hospitals have clinical or administrative policies that require patients to be assigned a particular privilege level or be given a pass before they are allowed to leave an inpatient unit or the hospital.
  • The Mental Health Act does not give a psychiatric facility the authority to restrain you as a voluntary patient. However, staff have a duty to restrain if they feel that such immediate action is necessary to prevent serious bodily harm to you or others. But, once you are in restraints, a doctor must promptly assess you to see if the criteria for being an involuntary patient apply to you. If the criteria do not apply, then the restraints should be immediately discontinued.

 

Can a voluntary patient become an involuntary patient?

  • Yes, if your doctor feels you meet the requirements set out in the Mental Health Act and he or she completes a certificate of involuntary admission (Form 3).

 

What will happen to me if I don’t want to stay as a voluntary patient or if I try to leave the hospital as a voluntary patient?

  • Although you have the legal right not to be detained, the staff may stop you so that the doctor may examine you prior to your departure from hospital to ensure that you do not meet criteria for admission as an involuntary patient. The hospital may have a policy regarding this practice and staff may detain you pending examination by your doctor.
  • While you may choose to exercise your right to leave hospital without consulting with your doctor or nursing staff, your doctor may issue an Application for Psychiatric Assessment (Form 1) if he or she feels that you meet criteria for continued assessment. If a Form 1 is issued, police may return you to hospital.
  • There is the possibility that if you do not comply with any of the hospital’s passes and privilege levels policies, the hospital may discharge you, making it difficult for you to obtain help from that same hospital in the future.
  • Staff may also ask you to sign a document that you are leaving the hospital against medical advice (AMA).

 

Can I apply to the Consent and Capacity Board if I’m prevented from leaving although I’m a voluntary patient?

  • No. But you can make an application to the Consent and Capacity Board if the doctor makes you an involuntary patient and places you on a certificate of involuntary admission (Form 3 or 4).

 

Do I have any legal recourse or options if I was prevented from leaving the hospital although I am a voluntary patient?

  • This is a complex issue and it is recommended that you talk to a lawyer, if possible.
  • If you wish to make a complaint about a doctor or nurse, you may choose to contact the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario or the College of Nurses of Ontario.
  • You could also try to lay a charge under section 80 of the Mental Health Act.

 

Questions?

  • If you have questions, contact your local Patient Advocate or Rights Adviser or call the central office of the Psychiatric Patient Advocate Office at 1-800-578-2343.
   

CONTACT US | ACCESSIBILITY | PRIVACY | © QUEEN'S PRINTER FOR ONTARIO | IMPORTANT NOTICES

Passer au contenu principal
Rechercher
  

 Malades en cure volontaire

Version Imprimable

 

Le présent guide d’information a été préparé par le Bureau de l’intervention en faveur des patients des établissements psychiatriques du ministère de la Santé dans le but de fournir des renseignements généraux. Il ne constitue pas un conseil juridique. Pour toute question ou pour obtenir des conseils juridiques concernant une situation réelle, veuillez consulter un avocat.

 

Juin 2016 

Qu’entend-on par « malade en cure volontaire »?

  • Le terme « malade en cure volontaire » figure dans la Loi sur la santé mentale mais n’y est pas défini. Selon la jurisprudence, un malade en cure volontaire est en mesure de prendre la décision de quitter un établissement psychiatrique ou d’y demeurer.
  • Un malade en cure volontaire n’est pas :
    • un « malade en cure obligatoire », que la Loi sur la santé mentale définit comme étant une personne détenue dans un établissement psychiatrique sous le régime d’un certificat d’admission en cure obligatoire ou d’un certificat de renouvellement, ni
    • un « malade en cure facultative », que la Loi sur la santé mentale définit comme étant une personne admise à titre de malade dans un établissement psychiatrique avec le consentement d’une autre personne en vertu de la Loi de 1996 sur le consentement aux soins de santé.
    • La Loi sur la santé mentale ne confère pas à un établissement psychiatrique le pouvoir de vous détenir en tant que malade en cure volontaire. En d’autres mots, en tant que tel malade, vous pouvez quitter l’hôpital en tout temps, et le personnel ne peut vous maîtriser ou vous empêcher de partir.
  • Si vous êtes malade en cure volontaire, l’hôpital doit vous le dire. À ce titre, vous avez choisi de demeurer dans un établissement psychiatrique à des fins d’observation, de soins et de traitement.

 

Comment devient-on un malade en cure volontaire?

  • Un malade en cure volontaire accepte de demeurer à l’hôpital. Le médecin doit inclure dans votre dossier de renseignements personnels sur la santé une note indiquant clairement que vous êtes un malade en cure volontaire et y joindre également votre accord relativement à ce statut.
  • Il existe quatre façons de devenir un malade en cure volontaire :
    1. Vous êtes admis à l’hôpital en tant que malade en cure volontaire si un médecin croit que vous avez besoin de l’observation, des soins et du traitement que l’on peut vous y fournir.
      • Exemple : Vous allez à l’hôpital parce que vous ne vous sentez pas bien et le médecin décide, d’un commun accord avec vous, de vous admettre car vous nécessitez des soins de santé mentale.
    2. Vous êtes détenu à l’hôpital en vertu soit d’une demande d’évaluation psychiatrique (formule 1) soit d’un certificat d’admission en cure obligatoire ou de renouvellement (formule 3 ou 4), et la formule en question expire.
      • Exemple  1 : Vous avez été détenu à l’hôpital en vertu d’une formule 1 pendant 72 heures, puis cette dernière expire mais le médecin ne remplit pas de certificat d’admission en cure obligatoire (formule 3).
      • Exemple  2 : Vous faites l’objet d’un certificat d’admission en cure obligatoire (formule 3) ou de renouvellement (formule 4), cette formule expire et le médecin ne la renouvelle pas.
    3. Un médecin fait passer votre statut de malade en cure obligatoire à celui de malade en cure volontaire (formule 5) avant que votre certificat d’admission en cure obligatoire n’expire.
      • Exemple : Vous êtes détenu dans un hôpital comme malade en cure obligatoire aux termes d’une formule 3 qui expire le 15 juin. Toutefois, le médecin décide le 10 juin que vous ne répondez plus aux critères d’un malade en cure obligatoire. En remplissant un document appelé formule 5, le médecin annule la formule 3 et vous devenez un malade en cure volontaire.
    4. Vous êtes admis à l’hôpital pour un problème de santé physique mais le médecin est d’avis que vous devriez également être patient psychiatrique.
      • Exemple : Vous allez à l’hôpital parce que vous avez des douleurs à la poitrine et vous êtes admis comme patient à l’unité de cardiologie. Cependant, le médecin croit que vous répondez aussi aux critères d’un patient psychiatrique. Il vous informe de sa décision et vous acceptez d’être admis en tant que patient psychiatrique.

 

Quels sont mes droits en tant que malade en cure volontaire?

  • Les malades en cure volontaire ne peuvent pas détenus contre leur gré. Vous devez donc être informé que vous êtes malade en cure volontaire et que vous devez accepter de demeurer à l’hôpital. Votre accord doit être conservé dans votre dossier de renseignements personnels sur la santé.
  • En tant que malade en cure volontaire, vous pouvez quitter l’hôpital quand bon vous semble. Vous n’avez pas besoin d’un laissez-passer, d’une autorisation de vous absenter ni de la permission du personnel pour quitter l’hôpital. Cependant, certains hôpitaux ont adopté des politiques cliniques ou administratives obligeant les patients à recevoir un niveau de privilège particulier ou un laissez-passer avant d’être autorisés à quitter une unité de soins ou l’hôpital.
  • La Loi sur la santé mentale ne confère pas à l’établissement psychiatrique le pouvoir de vous maîtriser en tant que malade en cure volontaire. Le personnel a toutefois le devoir de vous maîtriser s’il juge qu’une telle action immédiate est nécessaire pour éviter toute lésion corporelle grave à vous ou à d’autres personnes. Une fois que vous êtes en contention, un médecin doit rapidement vous évaluer pour voir si vous répondez aux critères d’un malade en cure obligatoire. Si ce n’est pas le cas, les moyens de contention doivent cesser immédiatement.

 

Peut-on mettre en cure obligatoire un malade en cure volontaire?

  • Oui, si votre médecin estime que vous répondez aux critères énoncés dans la Loi sur la santé mentale et s’il remplit un certificat d’admission en cure obligatoire (formule 3).

 

Que m’arrivera-t-il si je ne veux pas rester à l’hôpital comme malade en cure volontaire ou si je tente de partir?

  • Bien qu’en vertu de la loi, vous ne puissiez être détenu contre votre gré, le personnel peut vous empêcher de partir afin que le médecin vous examine avant votre départ de l’hôpital pour de s’assurer que vous ne répondez pas aux critères d’admission comme malade en cure obligatoire. L’hôpital a peut-être adopté une politique à ce sujet, et le personnel pourrait vous détenir en attendant qu’un médecin vous examine.
  • Si vous choisissez d’exercer votre droit de quitter l’hôpital sans consulter au préalable votre médecin ou le personnel infirmier, votre médecin pourra remplir une demande d’évaluation psychiatrique (formule 1) s’il croit que vous nécessitez une évaluation continue. Dans ce cas, la police pourra vous ramener à l’hôpital.
  • Il est possible que l’hôpital vous donne votre congé si vous ne respectez pas ses politiques concernant les laissez-passer et les niveaux de privilège. Vous pourriez alors avoir de la difficulté à recevoir de l’aide du même hôpital dans l’avenir.
  • Le personnel peut également vous demander de signer un document attestant que vous quittez l’hôpital sans tenir compte des avis médicaux.

 

Puis-je présenter une requête à la Commission du consentement et de la capacité si l’on m’empêche de quitter l’hôpital même si je suis un malade en cure volontaire?

  • Non. Cependant, vous pouvez présenter une requête à la Commission du consentement et de la capacité si le médecin vous déclare malade en cure obligatoire et vous assujettit à un certificat d’admission en cure obligatoire (formule 3 ou 4).

 

Ai-je un recours judiciaire ou des options si l’on m’empêche de quitter l’hôpital même si je suis un malade en cure volontaire?

  • Il s’agit là d’une question complexe, et il est recommandé de consulter un avocat si possible.
  • Pour porter plainte contre un médecin ou une infirmière, vous pouvez vous adresser à l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario ou à l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers de l’Ontario.
  • Vous pouvez aussi tenter de faire porter une accusation en vertu de l’article 80 de la Loi sur la santé mentale.

 

Questions

  • Si vous avez des questions, communiquez avec l’intervenant en faveur des patients ou le conseiller en matière de droits de votre localité, ou avec le Bureau de l’intervention en faveur des patients des établissements psychiatriques au 1 800 578-2343.
   

CONTACTEZ NOUS | ACCESSIBILITÉ | CONFIDENTIALITÉ | © IMPRIMEUR DE LA REINE POUR L'ONTARIO | AVIS IMPORTANTS