Talent Development

When you sign up with someone to develop your acting or modelling talents, you have the same 10-day cooling-off period as with other personal development services. If you change your mind within 10 days of signing a contract, all you have to do is write the agent a letter cancelling the agreement.

If the company’s representations or sales pitches turn out to be false or misleading, the Consumer Protection Act, 2002 gives you one year to rescind the agreement by, for example, a registered or hand-delivered letter. It protects you when you sign a contract with a service if the cost to join is more than $50.

Smart shopping experts at the ministry have worked with respected professionals in the entertainment industry to provide the following tips to help keep your feet on the ground if you have stars in your eyes.

Casting Calls in the Newspaper

Photographs

Background or “Extra” Roles

Principal Agents

Commercials

For More Information

Perfectionnement

Lorsque vous signez une entente avec quelqu’un qui vous aidera à mettre en valeur vos talents de comédien ou de mannequin, vous avez droit au même délai de réflexion de 10 jours que pour les autres services de perfectionnement personnel. Si vous changez d'avis au plus tard 10 jours après avoir signé un contrat, il suffit d’envoyer à l’agent une lettre de résiliation de l'entente.

Si les déclarations et les arguments de vente de l’entreprise sont faux ou trompeurs, la Loi de 2002 sur la protection du consommateur vous donne un an pour annuler l'entente en envoyant, par exemple, une lettre recommandée ou en la remettant en personne. La Loi vous protège lorsque vous signez un contrat de service dont le coût d'adhésion est de plus de 50 $.

Les experts en magasinage du ministère ont travaillé avec des professionnels réputés de l’industrie du spectacle afin de préparer les conseils suivants qui vous aideront à garder fermement les deux pieds sur terre même si vous rêvez aux étoiles.

Demandes de comédiens dans les journaux

Photographies

Rôles de figurants

Agences principales

Annonces publicitaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements