Not-for-Profit Corporations Act

Ontario’s Not-for-Profit Corporations Act, 2010 (ONCA) provides a modern, legal framework for not-for-profit corporations, including charitable corporations. It sets out how not-for-profit corporations in Ontario are to be created, governed and dissolved.

Amendments to more than 80 statutes including ONCA were introduced in the legislature in June 2013.  It is anticipated that these amendments will be debated in the legislature in fall 2013. If the amendments are passed by the legislature, ONCA is anticipated to come into force no earlier than six months after passage in order to ensure adequate time for not-for-profit corporations to prepare for transition.

Existing not-for-profit corporations will have a three-year transition period once ONCA is in effect.

Community Legal Education Ontario (CLEO) is available to provide support to not-for-profit corporations as they make the transition to ONCA. CLEO has launched the “Get Ready for the ONCA” project. The project will help Ontario’s not-for-profit corporations understand and prepare for ONCA when it comes into force. For inquiries about the project, please email oncainfo@cleo.on.ca.

Note: ServiceOntario is responsible for processing applications for corporations including not-for-profit corporations.

Loi sur les organisations sans but lucratif

La Loi de 2010 sur les organisations sans but lucratif (LOSBL) de l’Ontario définit un cadre juridique moderne pour les organisations sans but lucratif, y compris les organisations caritatives. Elle établit les règles selon lesquelles les organisations sans but lucratif en Ontario seront créées, régies et dissoutes.

Des modifications apportées à plus de 80 statuts, y compris la LOSBL, ont été introduites à l'assemblée législative en juin 2013. Il est prévu que les débats concernant ces modifications auront lieu à l'assemblée législative à l'automne 2013 Si les modifications sont adoptées par l'assemblée législative, la LOSBL devrait entrer en vigueur au moins six mois après cette adoption, afin de laisser aux organisations sans but lucratif le temps de se préparer à la transition.

Les organisations sans but lucratif existantes bénéficieront d'une période de transition de trois ans après l'entrée en vigueur de la LOSBL.

Éducation juridique communautaire Ontario (CLEO) est disponible pour aider les organisations sans but lucratif lors de la transition à la LOSBL. CLEO a lancé le projet « Préparez-vous en vue de la LOSBL ». Ce projet aidera les organisations sans but lucratif de l'Ontario à comprendre la LOSBL et à se préparer à l'entrée en vigueur de celle-ci. Si vous avez des questions concernant le projet, veuillez envoyer un courriel à l'adresse oncainfo@cleo.on.ca.